St. Gerard's RC Primary School
Avalon Court

Admin e-mail:

Telephone: (01642) 591820
Fax: (01642) 594069


Our Governors

St Gerard’s Primary School belongs to Nicholas Postgate Catholic Academy Trust which governed by a Board of Directors who are responsible for, and oversee, the management and administration of the the academies run within the Trust.

All of the academies belongong to Nicholas Postgate Catholic Academy Trust  have a Local Management Board. The Trust Board delegate responsiblity to the Local Management Boards(LMB) for overseeing many of the strategic decisions of the school. A key role of the (LMB) is to act as a ‘critical friend’: to support, to challenge, to ask questions, ultimately to represent the school community.

The Local Management Board works in close partnership with the Head Teacher and staff.  Whilst the Head Teacher is responsible for the day to day running of the school, the governors are involved with such things as staffing, curriculum, school buildings and finance.

Membership of the Local Management Board includes parents, teaching staff and representatives from the local community.

Parent governors

Parents, including carers, of pupils are eligible to stand for election as governors. Parent governors are elected by other parents at the school.

Staff governors

The headteacher is a staff governor by virtue of their office. Other staff, both teaching and support, may become governors as long as they are paid (volunteers do not qualify). Staff governors are elected by the school staff.

Foundation  governors

Foundation governors are appointed by the school’s founding body, church or other organisation named in the school’s instrument of government. If the school has a religious character, the foundation governors must preserve and develop this.

 Our Governors

Jim Whiston Chair
Celia Whittingham Vice Chair
Carol Walker Executive Headteacher
Anne Hood Foundation Governor
Joanne Smith Foundation Governor
Pat McBride Foundation Governor
John Carrigan Foundation Governor
Mgr. Gerard Dasey Foundation Governor
Terry Cane Foundation Governor
Margaret Colley Community Governor
Lisa Lindberg Parent Governor (St. Gerard’s)
Mike Illingworth Parent Governor (Sacred Heart)
Nicola Darragh Staff Governor

For current Governing Body information, including meeting attendance, click here.

Please send any correspondence for the Chair of Governors to the school office.